PLEASE NOTE: This document applies to v0.7 version and not to the latest stable release v1.9

    Pool CRD

    Rook allows creation and customization of storage pools through the custom resource definitions (CRDs). The following settings are available for pools.


    apiVersion: rook.io/v1alpha1
    kind: Pool
      name: ecpool
      namespace: rook
      #  size: 3
        dataChunks: 2
        codingChunks: 1
      crushRoot: default

    Pool Settings


    • name: The name of the pool to create.
    • namespace: The namespace of the Rook cluster where the pool is created.


    • replicated: Settings for a replicated pool. If specified, erasureCoded settings must not be specified.
      • size: The number of copies of the data in the pool.
    • erasureCoded: Settings for an erasure-coded pool. If specified, replicated settings must not be specified.
      • dataChunks: Number of data chunks per object in an erasure coded storage pool
      • codingChunks: Number of coding chunks per object in an erasure coded storage pool
    • failureDomain: The failure domain across which the replicas or chunks of data will be spread. Possible values are osd or host, with the default of host. For example, if you have replication of size 3 and the failure domain is host, all three copies of the data will be placed on osds that are found on unique hosts. In that case you would be guaranteed to tolerate the failure of two hosts. If the failure domain were osd, you would be able to tolerate the loss of two devices. Similarly for erasure coding, the data and coding chunks would be spread across the requested failure domain.
    • crushRoot: The root in the crush map to be used by the pool. If left empty or unspecified, the default root will be used. Creating a crush hierarchy for the OSDs currently requires the Rook toolbox to run the Ceph tools described here.